Presentation – english

For your convenience I’ve made this brief presentation in english to tell about my background, qualifications and experience. I have 2 goals: 1) I want to build a good political network, 2) I want to build a good disability policy network.

I was born 1955 with muscular dystrophy type II SMA. I was diagnosed approx. 3 years old. Became a wheelchair user when I was approx. 10 years old. Got my first electric wheelchair when I started in high school 1972. Graduated 1975. My hometown is Ringsted. I was born here. Ringsted is located in the middle of Zealand – 60 km south of Copenhagen.

In 1976 I started studying social studies and communication at the University of Roskilde. This resulted in a bachelor’s degree in communications.

As early as ’76, I was active in disability politicy in the youth section of the organisation now known as Danish Association for the Disabled (DHF). My work in disability organisations was eventually replaced by a more general political work.

My political work started in the Left Wing Socialists in 1977. In 1984 I joined the Danish Communist Party. From 1991 till 2010 I was a member of the Socialist People’s Party. In 2010 I left the Socialist People’s Party because of controversy about, among other things, the party’s disability policy and a general move towards the right of the party.

Since 2002 I have been a member of Ringsted City Council representing the Socialist People’s Party. Since January 2011 I’ve been representing the Red Green Alliance, an alliance formed back in 1991 on the ‘ruins’ of the communist party and some other leftwing groups.

The basis for my political work has always been that we have to fight for decent disability policy. To fulfill this, we have to be a real part of society and the social debate. We have to argue and make people understand why we as people with disabilities must be compensated to get equal rights.

Since 1987 I’ve been working as a journalist in my own business based on my degree in communications. In 2008 I got a supported job as a journalist in the Danish Service Agency. Unfortunately, I was fired from this job in January 2012 when it was saved dramatically on the number of employees. I was unemployed until november 2012. Then I started as a communication consultant in the danish organization dealing with fibromyalgia, but had to leave this job 31th of december 2013. Now I am unimployed.

I have during my life had a lot of trouble talking about my own disability. I had no problems talking about disability in general. As a child I was told that I in the best case could be only twenty years old. It gave me some mental problems, which I first conquered when I was 50 years old. Not until that time I joined the Muscular Dystrophy Foundation. Here I’ve been a member of the Board since 2007. I’m also the chairman of Ringsted Disability Council.

Internationally I until 2012 was a board member and vice president of EAMDA (European Alliance of NeuroMuscular Disorders Associations), which some of you might know.

In 2010, I had severe breathing problems. This resulted in a tracheostomy and since I’ve been using a ventilator at night. I now also have Personal Assistants helping me during day and nighttime – which I did not have before.

In my personal life I am married and have been since 1989. My wife has 2 children from a previous marriage. They were born respectively 1979 and 1984. Now we also have a lovely grandchild.

In other sections of my website you will find lectures and some articles I’ve written. It is unfortunately not in English, but using Google Translation, you might get an idea of the content of my website.

If you want to get in touch with me, please use the formula, you will find in the menu ‘Mail’.